My life without Facebook: The evolution of Facebook.

26 May

Motivation is what keeps me going. everyday i thrive to accomplish something different. Wether it’s lent and my aim is to go a month without chocolate, or deactivating my Facebook during exam period.

It might be something i’v always wanted to do, but sometimes i just do it, to smell that sweet aroma of success at the ‘finish line’

So, a few weeks ago, i took the opportunity of the upcoming exams as an excuse for me to deactivate me Facebook. Without even a warning, all my pictures were deleted, i disappeared from my friends feeds, it was as if i never existed. The real reason i did it? I’m not exactly sure, but what dawned on me these few weeks was something ONLY this experience could have given me, and i am so glad i went through with it.

Facebook. Something each and every one of us take for granted. I’m not going to blabber on about the advantages and disadvantages because I’m sure each and every one of us knows them like the back of our hand. But what we don’t realize is just how much of our day we spend not only scrolling endlessly through realms of what people did and where people went but also thinking about Facebook, stressing about how many ‘likes’ we get, or who sent us a message on chat.

I am not exaggerating by saying that 50% of this stress, and anxiety just vanished these two weeks. Don’t get me wrong, i love the internet and the social network, i spend a lot of my time on it, seeing as i even have my own blog, but there’s something about this constant need of checking your Facebook 24 hours of the day that got to me. I felt more free, i had so much more free time, when i spoke to my friends there was actually news, new things surprised me, i felt like i was a robot and now i am a human, i know it may seem like i am exaggerating things a little, but it’s really how i feel.

I am a very sociable person, i have people i need to stay in touch with from all-over the globe and so i am one of face book’s ‘worthiest’ users, so, the fact that i feel this way is saying something!

Today, i reactivated my Facebook, as we have a break from exam and this was the original day i was going to reactivate it.

I sat on it for about twenty minuets, putting it plainly, getting shocked at what our society has become, what sort of pictures people post, and just how shallow some people can get. I know these all sound really negative, but the contrast between the two, it made me realize, that people who are constantly on Facebook – basically everyone – will not be able to understand just how much it actually changes and evolves us, forget survival of the fittest, this is the new way we are evolving, and the way i saw it today, it is horrible!

I think i’m going to go with a halfway solution and keep only the friends i need to say in touch with, never sign in through my phone and only use it when i need to.

I really never thought i was going to be one of those annoying ignorant people who moans about Facebook, but it’s the truth.

Facebook may be the worst and best thing that has ever happened to our generation. 

I would LOVE to hear your views on this!

One Response to “My life without Facebook: The evolution of Facebook.”

  1. jacob May 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    wow anna. i know ive said, but this really is some strong stuff. ADVERTISE!!!

Leave a Reply

